dasawhartonphotography

Exercise 13 – vertical and horizontal frames

The task of this exercise was to take about 20 photos in a vertical frame, setting to be chosen…I normally shoot in vertical frame, especially when photographing people..

The same 20 photos should be than shot in a horizontal frame.

I took my photographs at around the main entrance to Prague castle, where there are always people, especially at around the time when the castle guards change . It was not as busy as normal, due to the extremely cold weather but still enough going on… I also took some photos on the way to the Prague castle, and shot these immediately in both vertical and horizontal format, since I knew that I would not have time to go back…

Conclusion of this exercise, based on the textbook : format is to a large extent a matter of habit – I agree with this and it is good to be ‘ forced ‘ to shoot a scene in a different way to what I would normally do – it is good to look at the results and realise that  some of scenes shot in the ‘ unusual’ format look actually more interesting than I thought they would…

This entry was published on February 17, 2012 at 10:58 am. It’s filed under Exercises, OCA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

