dasawhartonphotography

exercise 6 – fitting the frame to the subject

Just a few notes – I am in Prague now , it’s extremely cold here and even if I originally thought that I will take all my photos for the next few exercises outside I had to reconsider…so in my parent’s flat, near a window with lots of light I am setting up my little studio…

Put my camera in manual mode, I am very slow when in manual mode so this is a good exercise to practise…another challenge is the very bright sun , but I like contrast in photographs, when there are shadows and lines from the blinds on the surface or the background of the photo…

To reflect the Czech mode I am in I am taking a Czech newspaper as a background and a pair of sunglasses as my subject to photograph….i like how the light reflects in the lenses plus it makes all sense to me – the sun outside, sunglasses and newspaper to read…

Not quite sure what is the point of this exercise  ( to try different compositions I guess… )but am following the instructions – first photo taken as normal, second photo fitting the subject as much in the frame, third photo taking a  photograph of only a part of the subject and the last one taking a photo of the background with the subject making only a small part of the photograph…

When trying to photograph a part of the sunglasses I am focusing on the brand written on the side f the frame, this proves quite a tricky thing, since when the brand is focused the rest of the photo is completely washed out and seems overexposed…does it matter ? I quite like it, and as long as I can read the name of the frames ( my goal ) I am happy…

At the end a bit of cropping fun – again, not really seeing the point of doing this…find this a bit pointless and boring to be absolutely honest…

1. photo taken as normal- a quick action and shoot…

Image

2. fit tightly in…Image..

3. a part of the subject only…

Image

4. from far away…

Image

a few crops done but photos not uploaded to the post – first of all they are not interesting and second of all my computer is REALLY slow now and it is late so need to go to bed…

conclusion : enjoyed the challenge of manual setting on my camera, with bright sunlight, need to polish my sunglasses next time i was to take a close up photos…a bit boring exercise, filling the frame with a subject…i personally almost always like to take photos of details rather than a subject and lots of background, unless of course the background plays a part in the story…for that reason i like most the photo number 3…

This entry was published on February 11, 2012 at 11:12 pm. It’s filed under Exercises, OCA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

